Weaning at 4 Months

Hi everyone,

We have been weaning baby ollie now since 4 months so I thought it was time to write a post on how we are getting on.

When we started him on his first foods I purchased a packet of Ellas Kitchen banana baby rice which he absolutely loved. We gave him a small bowl once a day with his dinner time bottle to start with and then we put this up to dinner and tea.

for another week. From there he then went on to have 3 meals a day which is where we are currently at.

He tends to have a powdered porridge in the morning which can be any variety depending on what is on offer when I do the weekly shop. He will also have a bottle with his breakfast as well and this is a 6oz bottle.

For dinner and tea he has a variety of things but he is now having a main and a dessert! I have powdered meals in as well as jars and again these can be any brand, I pick up loads of different ones for hin to try. For dessert he has either a jar of some sort or a fruity pot.

I have just moved him onto follow on milk as well as of last night and have moved him onto HIPP Organic as have heard alot of really good things about their milk.

In the next few weeks I am hoping to introduce more finger foods and meals that he can eat with the whole family. I am currently looking through Pinterest for recipe ideas. I did pick up some of the Kiddylicious wafers last time I did a shop as they where on offer at Tesco but he doesn’t seem very keen on these at the moment!

He is doing brilliantly at the moment and absolutely loved his food (as does the rest of his family hehe!) I also did a video on how we are getting on. If you would like to take a look please pop over to my YouTube Channel.

We decided to wean Ollie at 4 months as he was always wanting milk but he was sicking alot up so we started him on the porridge and then he didn’t take on so much milk which helped with him sicking loads back up.

I don’t plan to have him on purees for much longer as he is 6 months in a couple of weeks so as I said above I will introduce our meals and get him eating what we do as soon as I can.

I will do an update in a month so I can let you know how we are getting on with introducing other foods.

I also post regularly on Instagram and Twitter so for more updates please pop over and follow me there :). I have also set up a Facebook page recently too.

Thank you for reading.

Hannah x

Rhyming with Wine

Mummuddlingthrough

Linking up with This Mum Life for #bigpinklink

Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday
Mummascribbles</div

30 thoughts on “Weaning at 4 Months

  1. He’s so cute, he looks like he’s really loving it! My little boy was like this, and eating most of the same stuff, then one day he figured out he could pick stuff up and feed himself with his hands, and he never ate off a spoon again. We had a weird 7 month phase where he got all his nutrients on toast. You’ve got that to look forward to!

    Like

    • Lol that sounds like a run phase! He had broccoli and Mash last night but he didn’t pick it up himself! He loved it tho once I has shoved it in hehe x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Weaning my little one as well at the moment. We have very similar pics to you hahaha. I love the Heinz range!
    Here is my post if you want to have a look:
    Shttps://thefrenchiemummy.com/2016/07/08/the-art-of-weaning/
    #KCACOL

    Like

  3. i loved the powdered baby porridges (in fact I was quite tempted to have a bowl myself as it seemed so much nicer than my oats). We’re big fans of the fruity custard pots too and my two still have them now even though my eldest is nearly 4. One of the range (Fruity Medley) is actually 2 of their 5 a day rather than just one as most of them are and so we tend to go for this one as the more that I can squeeze in the better. (We do always aim for more than 5 but every little helps!) I think this is a great post and very supportive to other parents who are just starting out on the weaning journey as it can be quite daunting can’t it? Thanks for sharing with #fartglitter x

    Like

    • Ooh I didn’t know that I shall have a look for that one next time I’m shopping! It is very daunting and as much as I like the thought of BLW I feel like it is pushed to much and it’s just not for everyone. The baby porridge does look nice to be fair hehe! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I remember this being both fun and a little trying. I remember being so excited to have been given the ok to start trying pureed fruits and veggies that I went out and bought one of every kind at the store. And of course mine decided he would only eat carrots and sweet potatoes. It was really cool watching him try new things and see what he liked. I’m glad that it is going so well for you so far. Enjoy the adventure! #KCACOLS

    Like

  5. It sounds like it’s going really well – and the photos are super cute too! 😀 Marianna is good in that she’ll try anything, but bad in that she just picks and refuses to eat more than a few mouthfuls so it’s less a meal time and more an endless, all day snack! I’m sure she’ll get there though. 🙂 #KCACOLS

    Like

  6. He looks like he is going to be a fab eater! (Jealous!) Best of luck with your weaning journey, and good for you – I think the advice has eased off now and lets Mums trust their instinct more about when is the right time to start weaning.
    Thanks for linking to #coolmumclub

    Like

  7. Cute piccys 🙂 I’ve got this all to come in the next few weeks! Good to see some product recommendations – will definitly be giving the porridge a go. Xx

    Like

  8. Well he certainly looks like a happy baby! I think I started Zach on solids at 5 months – just little tony bits before going in properly at 6 months. All babies are different and we know them best! I have all of this to come again early next year! Thanks for linking up with #TwinklyTuesday

    Like

Leave a Reply

